Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Today in Israel Baseball League history

From the Israel Baseball League website:

Bet Shemesh Blue Sox win inaugural IBL Championship!

Petach Tikva, August 19 (2007) - In front of a crowd of 2,610 fans at Yarkon Field, it was the Bet Shemesh Blue Sox shutting out the Modi’in Miracle, 3-0, to win the inaugural IBL Championship.

The pitching match up of Modi’in’s RHP Maximo Nelson and Bet Shemesh’s RHP Rafael Bergstrom lived up to expectations as both pitchers engaged in a classic pitchers duel. Bergstrom dominated the Miracle offense earning the victory, pitching a complete game shutout, striking out eight batters allowing no walks.

Although, Modi’in out hit Bet Shemesh, it was the Blue Sox who manufactured their runs throughout the night. Bet Shemesh jumped out on top in the bottom of the first inning on a sacrifice fly by OF Jason Rees, scoring OF Sean Slaughter from third base. The Blue Sox scored their second run in the bottom of the fourth inning, on a sacrifice fly by 1B Ben Pincus. The Blue Sox added their third run of the night in the bottom of the fifth inning, when SS Gregg Raymundo (2-for-3) singled driving in Sean Slaughter from second base.

Modi’in threatened in the top of the top of the sixth inning with runners on first and third base and two outs. However, Bergstrom struck out Adalberto Paulino (2-for-4) to end the inning.

Ron Blomberg’s Blue Sox truly personified a championship team. Bet Shemesh never fell below first place throughout the entire season.

For the boxscore from the Championship game click

Following the game, Commissioner Dan Kurtzer presented the championship trophy to the entire Bet Shemesh team. Manager Ron Blomberg spoke during the trophy ceremony saying, “I’ve been in two World Series with the New York Yankees, and this championship lives up to both.” The Commissioner also presented the individual season achievement awards to the IBL’s top players.

The IBL announced that the first game of the 2008 season will be played on Sunday, June 29, at 6:00 p.m. at the Yarkon Sports Complex in the Baptist Village in Petach Tikva.

No comments: